## **IOWA STATE UNIVERSITY** Professional and Scientific Council

Council Motion:	Document a Shared Governance Philosophy at Iowa State University
Submitted by:	Shared Governance Ad Hoc Committee on May 4, 2017
Whereas:	The University Administration, Faculty Senate, Professional and Scientific Council, Supervisory and Confidential Council, Graduate and Professional Student Senate, and Student Government, as the representative bodies of Iowa State, have determined a need for documentation of shared governance, and
Whereas:	Professional and Scientific Council defines shared governance as a collaborative decision-making process that is inclusive of University administration, faculty, staff, and students which requires all parties to work together in order to advance the mission and achieve the strategic goals of Iowa State University.
Whereas:	The intention of shared governance is to provide a voice to the members of the University community in collaborating with University administration to create effective policies and procedures, establish a successful university climate, and unite our community.
Whereas:	<ul> <li>Professional and Scientific Council participates in said shared governance: <ol> <li>By serving as a resource and an advocate for P&amp;S Employees.</li> </ol> </li> <li>As a representative body elected by, and responsible to, P&amp;S Employees.</li> <li>By identifying the needs of our constitutents, providing information and advise in response to those needs, and by bringing feedback and recommendations of policies and procedures to the University administration that benefit P&amp;S Employees.</li> <li>By assisting in fulfilling the mission of Iowa State University.</li> </ul>
It is moved:	The Professional and Scientific Council document the shared definition of shared governance on the Professional and Scientific Council website and clearly document the Council's participation.
It is moved:	The Professional and Scientific Council recommend University Administrators formally adopt the aforementioned definition of Shared Governance and develop a central website to house the shared definition of shared governance, list the shared governance bodies at Iowa State University and provide resources.

Distribution list:	Steven Leath, President
	Jonathan Wickert, Senior Vice President and Provost
	Timothy Day, President Faculty Senate
	Cody West, President Student Government
	Vivek Lawana, President Graduate and Professional Student Senate