## IOWA STATE UNIVERSITY Professional and Scientific Council

Council Motion:	To Join Efforts to Establish and Refine a University Policy Against Bullying, Harassment and Intimidation on Campus
Submitted by:	Executive Committee
Date:	June 6, 2019
Whereas:	A principle purpose of the Professional and Scientific Council is to recommend policies and procedures to the administration that benefit P&S Employees
Whereas:	An identified strategic initiative of the Professional and Scientific Council is "working to enhance and cultivate the P&S employee experience to create a work environment where employees are safe and feel welcomed, supported, included and valued by each other."
Whereas:	The FY18 Iowa State University Ombuds Office report recommends the university "Refine policies regarding hostile work environments, harassment or harassing behavior exhibited by a supervisor or colleague that is not related to protected class."
Whereas:	The Iowa State University Faculty Senate recently passed a Resolution against Bullying and intimidation on campus
It is Moved:	Professional and Scientific Council stands firmly united that workplace and educational bullying have no place on our campus, and will not be tolerated
It is Moved:	That Professional and Scientific Council work with the Policy Library Advisory Committee and the Faculty Senate to establish, without infringing upon academic freedoms and the freedom of speech, a university policy against workplace and educational bullying
It is Moved:	That Professional and Scientific Council work with the Policy Library Advisory Committee to refine policies regarding hostile work environments, harassment or harassing behavior exhibited by a supervisor or colleague that is not related to protected class
Distribution:	Wendy Wintersteen, University President Jonathan Wickert, Senior Vice President and Provost Martino Harmon, Senior Vice President for Student Affairs Pam Cain, Interim Senior Vice President for University Services Kristi Darr, Interim Vice President, University Human Resources Deanna Clingan- Fischer, University Ombuds Officer Sheryl Rippke, Policy Library Advisory Committee Chair

## IOWA STATE UNIVERSITY Professional and Scientific Council

Jonathan Sturm, Faculty Senate President Austin Graber, Student Government President Eleanor Field, Graduate and Professional Student Senate President