IOWA STATE UNIVERSITY

Professional and Scientific Council

Council Motion: Salary Resolution

Submitted by: Executive Committee

Date: October 12, 2023

Whereas: The Professional and Scientific Council acknowledges the efforts of Senior Leadership at Iowa

State University to budget for salary and benefits of Professional and Scientific employees while

maintaining fiscal responsibility.

Whereas: The Senior Leadership at all the Regent Universities continue to exhaust yearly available

appropriations funding to allow salary increases but are not always provided with additional

funding for these necessary salary increases.

Whereas: The Board of Regents, State of Iowa in September 2023 acknowledged the need to develop a plan

for supporting salaries and stated the following in their annual appropriations request for fiscal

year 2025, which begins 1 July 2024:

The dollar amounts for incremental salary funding are not included in the Regent appropriations. Historically, a separate appropriations bill provides funding for new salary increases to all state agencies. This legislation typically requires that regent institutions provide comparable salary increases for non-contract employees as provided for contract-covered employees. The regent

institutions request to participate in the salary bill.

It is moved: The Iowa State University Professional and Scientific Council supports the Board of Regents,

State of Iowa annual appropriations request for fiscal year 2025 for Regent Universities to participate in a separate appropriations bill that provides funding for new salary increases to all state agencies and encourages the Legislature of the State of Iowa and Iowa Governor Kim

Reynolds to seriously consider and implement this request.

Distribution: The Board of Regents, State of Iowa

- Michael Richards, President
- Sherry Bates, President Pro Tem
- Mark Braun, Executive Director

Iowa State University

- Wendy Wintersteen, President
- Jonathan Wickert, Senior Vice President and Provost
- Shawn Norman, Senior Vice President for Operations and Finance
- Toyia Younger, Senior Vice President for Student Affairs
- Kristi Darr, Vice President of University Human Resources
- Sarah Bennett-George, Faculty Senate President
- Rahul Parsa, Faculty Senate President Elect

University of Iowa

- James Jorris, Staff Council President
- Makur Jain, Staff Council President Elect

University of Northern Iowa

- Kristina Kofoot, Professional and Scientific Council President
- Nathan Arndt, Professional and Scientific Council Vice President