Congratulations Newly Elected Councilors! 

Congratulations to the newly elected 2019-2020 Councilors who will be seated at the Professional and Scientific Council Meeting on Thursday, June 6, 2019.


Representing the Division of Academic Affairs: 

Ben Boecker, IT Services 

Paula BurnsCollege of Human Sciences 

Mickie DeatonFood Science & Human Nutrition 

Susan DeBlieckHorticulture 

Jeff Hartwig,  Animal Science 

Lesya HassallCenter for Excellence in learning and Teaching 

Chris JohnsenExtension Distribution 

Sarah Morris-BenavidesAmes Laboratory 

Dustin MoscosoCollege of Business

Jamie SassCollege of Business 

Patrick WallExtension and Outreach 

Rich WrageExtension and Outreach 


Representing the Division of Student Affairs: 

Megan Van Heiden, Dean of Students Office 

Teresa Witcher, International Students & Scholars 


Representing the Presdient's Office: 

Leslie Ginder, University Human Resources 

John Hascall, IT Systems and Operations 

Ronnie Hawkins, Vice President for Diversity & Inclusion 


More About Councilor Elections 

Nominees for council must hold a P-based employment status.  Council terms are generally for three years, and approximately one-third of the Council is chosen at each election.  Elected councilors attend regular council meetings and are appointed to serve on a standing committee.  The total commitment is apporximately 4 - 8 hours a month.  This varies on the amount of involvement, elections to office, etc.  Browse our website to find out more about Professional and Scientific Council activities and responsibilities.  

The Council consists of approximately 40 members, including seven officers, elected from Academica Affairs, Finance, President's Office, Student Affairs, and University Services (or 1 representative for every 75 P&S employees).  Please see our current list of Councilors and the areas which they represent.